The Kennedy Center

Alan & Marilyn Bergman


During their distinguished career, their songs have been nominated for 16 Academy Awards, for which they have won 3: "The Windmills of Your Mind" in 1968, "The Way We Were" in 1973, and the score for Yentl in 1984. They received Golden Globe Awards for "Windmills" and for "The Way We Were," which also earned two Grammys.

In the 1982 Academy Awards, they became the first songwriters to have penned three out of the five nominees for Best Song. Their songs were "How Do You Keep the Music Playing?" from Best Friends, "It Might Be You" from Tootsie, and "If We Were In Love" from Yes, Giorgio. During the 1983 ceremonies, they again received three nominations: for the score for Yentl (which won the Oscar) and two for the songs, "The Way He Makes Me Feel" and "Papa, Can You Hear Me?" In 1995, they wrote the Golden Globe-, Academy Award-, and Grammy-nominated song "Moonlight," which was performed by Sting in the Sydney Pollack film Sabrina. Among their principal collaborators are Michel Legrand, Marvin Hamlisch, Dave Grusin, Cy Coleman, Henry Mancini, Johnny Mandel, John Williams, Quincy Jones, and James Newton Howard.

Alan and Marilyn's long list of television credits includes the theme songs for Maude, Good Times, Alice, Brooklyn Bridge, and In the Heat of the Night. They have received four Emmy Awards: for the award-winning drama, Sybil; for the first made-for-TV dramatic musical, Queen of the Stardust Ballroom, music by Billy Goldenberg; in 1995, for their original song "Ordinary Miracles," music by Marvin Hamlisch, from the HBO Special Barbra Streisand: The Concert. Their fourth Emmy came in 1999 for Outstanding Music and Lyrics for "A Ticket to Dream" with Marvin Hamlisch from AFI's 100 Years 100 Movies Special. Two years later, they were nominated for their original song "On the Way to Becoming Me," also written with Marvin Hamlisch for the AFI Tribute to Barbra Streisand.

Alan and Marilyn were inducted into the Songwriters' Hall of Fame in 1980. In 1986, they received the Clooney Foundation Singers Salute to the Songwriter Award, and in 1987, the Songwriter's Guild Aggie Award. In 1995, Alan and Marilyn were recipients of the National Academy of Songwriters Lifetime Achievement Award. Two years later, they received the 1997 Songwriters Hall of Fame Johnny Mercer Award, and in 1998, they received a cultural Medal of Honor in Spain. In 1999, their talent was celebrated with an evening of Lyrics by Alan & Marilyn Bergman at Carnegie Hall. June 2000 brought them the National Music Publishers Association Lifetime Achievement Award. In June of 2002, they were honored with the Governor's Award from the National Association of Recording Arts & Sciences (NARAS), and the fall of 2003 brought them the first-ever Johnny Mercer Foundation Lifetime Achievement Award. In 2004, Alan and Marilyn were honored at The Flanders Film Festival with the World Soundtrack Lifetime Achievement Award. Marilyn Bergman is President and Chairman of the Board of the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP). Alan Bergman serves as a member of the Library of Congress National Film Preservation Board, the Johnny Mercer Foundation Board, the Artists' Rights Foundation Board and the Jazz Bakery Board of Directors. Alan and Marilyn are both on the Executive Committee of the Music Branch of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences.
Marilyn and Alan Bergman