The Kennedy Center

The Washington Trombone Ensemble


The Washington Trombone Ensemble is made up of the finest trombone players in the Washington, D.C. area, with members coming from professional orchestras, premier military bands, and university faculty.  The WTE is building a repertoire of new music and arrangements written for the group to take full advantage of this unique ensemble. The WTE is also focusing on educational outreach projects, working with local universities and school systems to inspire aspiring trombonists and to get young people excited about music.

The Washington Trombone Ensemble was created after the Inter-Service Trombone Choir led by Dr. Milton Stevens, former principal trombonist of the National Symphony Orchestra. With the untimely death of Dr. Stevens, there was no outlet for the many talented trombonists to gather together and enjoy the music and camaraderie that is so common to trombone ensembles. The Inter-Service Trombone Choir was reformed for the 2008 Eastern Trombone Workshop and was called the Milt Stevens Memorial Trombone Choir and gave a moving performance in his memory. The trombonists involved were excited to keep this ensemble alive and the group was reformed in 2009 by Sam Woodhead, who serves as the WTE director. The WTE is a collection of peers that shares ideas and concepts about musical and organizational directions.

Jerry Amoury, Todd Baldwin, Dan Brady, Jeremy Buckler, Jeff Cortazzo, Matt Guilford, Preston Hardage, Zac Hollister, Dana Landis, Kirsten Lies-Warfield, Natalie Mannix, John McGinnes, Adam McColley, Matt Niess, Dan Pendley, Lee Rogers, Russ Sharp, David Sisk, Andy Skaggs, Colin Wise, Clint Wolterin, Sam Woodhead
The Washington Trombone Ensemble