skip navigation | text only | accessibility | site map

Concert Hall

This content requires Macromedia Flash Player version 5 or higher. Get Flash

View non-Flash version

Hold the mouse down and move the cursor on the picture above to see a 360 degree view.

Renovated in 1997, the Concert Hall is the largest performance space in the Kennedy Center, seating 2,465. This state-of-the-art facility, which originally opened in 1971, sets new standards for accessibility and sound with a high-tech acoustical canopy, accessible locations on every level, and new seating sections (onstage boxes, chorister seats, and parterre seats). The 7 famous Hadeland crystal chandeliers, a gift from Norway, are repositioned to clear the field of view from the Second tier center. Behind the stage you will note the organ, a generous gift by Kennedy Center Chairman David M. Rubenstein, given on the occasion of the 40th anniversary of the Kennedy Center and the 80th anniversary of the NSO.

For more information on the organ’s specifications click here.

Now performing in the Concert Hall :

Image for NSO Pops: Danny Elfman's <i>Music from the Films of Tim Burton</i> / John Mauceri, conductor

NSO Pops: Danny Elfman's Music from the Films of Tim Burton / John Mauceri, conductor


Danny Elfman's Music from the Films of Tim Burton
John Mauceri, conductor

"INCREDIBLE... A raucous and unforgettable evening! The most exquisite Halloween gift conceivable... a hybrid vibe somewhere between a traditional symphonic performance, a rock concert, and a sporting event"
--L.A. Weekly

From his films Edward Scissorhands, Beetlejuice, and Batman to The Nightmare Before Christmas, Frankenweenie, and Alice in Wonderland, no one knows how to combine weird and wonderful quite like two-time Academy Award–nominated director Tim Burton. And with his unforgettable scores, Grammy Award–winning composer Danny Elfman brings humor, drama, and pathos to these and other cinematic classics by his longtime collaborator. 

Just in time for Halloween, Grammy and Tony Award–winning conductor John Mauceri leads the NSO Pops, violinist Sandy Cameron, boy soprano Thomas Lynch, and the Choral Arts Society of Washington in this "thrilling" (The Evening Standard) multimedia concert of Elfman's "barbed and bouncy" (The Guardian) film music, already performed to sell-out crowds in London and Los Angeles. Brief scenes and visuals from some of Burton's films and original sketches, drawings, and storyboards will be projected above the orchestra to illuminate the collaborative relationship between music and storytelling.

Act 1
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory
Pee-wee's Big Adventure
Sleepy Hollow
Mars Attacks!
Big Fish
Batman/Batman Returns

Act 2
Planet of the Apes
Tim Burton's Corpse Bride
Dark Shadows
Tim Burton's The Nightmare Before Christmas
Edward Scissorhands
Alice in Wonderland

Performance Timing: Approximately 2-1/4 hours, including one 15-minute intermission.