Rhodes Tavern Troubadours


2001 winners of a Washington Area Music Association’s “Wammie,” the Rhodes Tavern Troubadours are a post pop and roots band named for DC’s famed Rhodes Tavern. The tavern was DC’s premier honky-tonk. Built in 1799 it was turned into a tavern in 1801 and served as Washington’s first “town hall.” After surviving the British burning of DC in 1814, the old tavern took on many roles, including the National Press Club and the Washington Stock Exchange. Witness to every inaugural parade from Thomas Jefferson to Ronald Reagan, the tavern was razed in 1984. The Troubadour performances pay homage to a fine DC legend with every performance, with tonight’s performance a tribute to the Washington Area Music Awards.

Members of the group are:
Dave Chappel (guitar/vocals/hot towels/mixed nuts) has played with numerous acts over the last 20 years, including Billy Hancock, Evan Johns and the H Bombs, Chuck Brown, and Danny Gatton. He has also performed with rock ‘n’ roll icons like Jerry Lee Lewis, Johnny Johnson, and Sam Moore.

Jake Flack (guitar/vocals/permission slips/ice) has performed with The Neptunes, The Thangs, The Gomegas, and The Capitol Hillbilly’s. While resident in New Orleans, he spent five years performing with Thousand $ Car.

Mark Noone (bass/vocals/red carpet/ Tiki glasses) spent over 20 years as the front man for the Slickee Boys and has produced albums by the Slickee Boys, the Grandsons, Kelly Willis, the Hula Monsters, the Wanktones, Go To Blazes, Ruthie and the Wranglers, and more.

Jack O’Dell (drums/vocals/construction/cocktails) has performed with the Hula Monsters, Billy Kemp, Bill Kirchen and Too Much Fun.

The Washington Area Music Association (WAMA) is a non-profit tax exempt organization of music industry professionals committed to raising the profile of the region’s diverse music community. The Washington Area Music Awards (Wammies) recognize significant career achievements by area musicians, with nominations and balloting coming from the WAMA membership. Past show participants include Emmylou Harris, Joan Jett, The Clovers, Bo Diddley, Jorma Kaukonen, Mary Chapin Carpenter, and Jimmy Dean.
Default Profile