The 24th Annual Mayor’s Arts Awards


Mayor Adrian Fenty hosts The 24th Annual Mayor’s Arts Awards, an evening of live performances.

Produced by DC Commission on the Arts and Humanities
Presented by the Kennedy Center, Millennium Stage
Free and open to the public; reservations not required

MC: Cynné Simpson, WJLA-Channel 7 News

The Mayor’s Arts Awards, the highest honor conferred by the District of Columbia, provides recognition to District of Columbia artists, arts organizations, and arts patrons who have demonstrated excellence in artistic craft, education, and service.  The 2009 Awards will be presented in the following categories and announced live from the stage: Excellence in an Artistic Discipline, Excellence in Service to the Arts, Innovation in the Arts, Outstanding Contribution to Arts Education, Outstanding Emerging Artists, the Mayor’s Awards of Arts Teaching, and the Mayor’s Award for Visionary Leadership in the Arts.


            Excellence in an Artistic Discipline
            CityDance Ensemble
            The Studio Theatre
            Theater Alliance of Washington, DC
            Washington Bach Consort
            Helanius Wilkins

            Excellence in Service to the Arts
            Capital Fringe
            Jazz Night in Southwest/Southwest Renaissance Development Corporation
            Judith Korey
            Kim Roberts
            Andy Anas Shallal

            Innovation in the Arts
            Arts in Foggy Bottom
            Catalyst Theater Company
            Festivals DC, Ltd. (Duke Ellington Jazz Festival)
            Miriam’s Kitchen
            Vera Oye’ Yaa-Anna

            Outstanding Contribution to Arts Education
            CityDance Ensemble
            Joy of Motion Dance Center
            The Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
            Washington National Opera
            Words Beats & Life, Inc.

            Outstanding Emerging Artist
            Jason Garcia Ignacio
            Michael Janis
            Jakari Sherman
            Jeremy Skidmore
            Gwydion Suilebhan

• This will be the seventh year that The Mayor’s Arts Awards recognizes the exemplary efforts of D.C. Public and Public Charter School teachers for their outstanding teaching in performing arts, visual arts, and literary arts.  Award recipients will be announced live from the stage.

• This will be the first year that the Mayor’s Arts Awards recognizes visionaries in the Arts, through the Mayor’s Award for Visionary Leadership in the Arts.  These recipients are:
                  Septime Webre, Artistic Director of the Washington Ballet
                  Joy Zinoman, Founding Artistic Director of the Studio Theatre

Award Presenters will include the following people:

       - Darrell Ayers, Vice President, Education, The Kennedy Center
       - Kwame Brown, Councilmember At-Large, District of Columbia   
       - Liz Havstad, Chief of Staff, Hip Hop Caucus and Institute
       - Janice Hill, Executive Director, Lincoln Theatre
       - Marcus Johnson, Jazz Musician          
       - Dolores Kendrick, Poet Laureate, District of Columbia
      - Victor Reinoso, Deputy Mayor for Education, District of Columbia
       - David Sutphen, Partner, Brunswick Group
       - Dr. Billy Taylor, Artistic Director, Jazz, The Kennedy Center
       - George Worrell, GMW Enterprises, LLC

• Performers will include the following groups:
      - Coral Cantigas
      - City At Peace
      - The Cultural Academy of Excellence (Positive Vibrations Youth Steel Orchestra)
      - DC Youth Orchestra
      - Golden Universes Dance Company
      - KanKouran West African Dance Company
      - Mambo Sauce
      - O’Neill-James Irish Steppers
      - Silk Road Dance Company
      - Step Afrika!
      - Urban Artistry
      - The Washington Ballet
      - Washington Improv Theater
The 24th Annual Mayor’s Arts Awards