The Kennedy Center

Grand Pianola Music

About the Work

John Adams Composer: John Adams
© John Adams

Commissioned by the General Atlantic Corporation and by David Rumsey

First performed February 26, 1982 by the San Francisco Symphony, Robin Sutherland and
Julie Steinberg, pianists, John Adams, conductor.

2 solo pianos, 2 flutes (both doubling piccolo.), 2 oboes, 2 Bb clarinets (2nd doubles bass clarinet), 2 bassoons, 2 horns, 2 Bb trumpets, 2 trombones, tuba, percussion (3 players), 3 amplified female voices (2 sopranos & mezzo)

Duration: 30 minutes