Chee-Yun & Barry Douglas

Tuesday, October 5, 2004, 7:30 PM

This acclaimed violin-piano duo performs classic sonatas by Mozart and Brahms.



Run Time:

1 hour 30 minutes

This event has already closed.
Please use the event calendar to search for current events.


Since the age of eight, violinist Chee-Yun has been bringing her compelling musical temperament to the world’s foremost recital halls and orchestras, including the National Symphony Orchestra’s 1998 "Salute to Slava," in honor of departing conductor Mstislav Rostropovich. "So passionate and musically engaged as to leave a listener awestruck" (The San Francisco Examiner), she is also the recipient of the "Nan Pa" award, her native Korea’s highest musical honor. Renowned Irish pianist Barry Douglas, winner of the 1986 Tchaikovsky International Piano Competition in Moscow, is particularly known for his performances of the large-scale Romantic repertoire, from Rachmaninoff to Brahms. The Los Angeles Times says he reveals "the sensitivity of a poet and the fingers of a magician. [His playing is] marvelously lucid, eminently heroic." For the first concert of the new Fortas season, these two soloists come together for a program of sonatas by Mozart, Penderecki, Brahms, and Prokofiev.

Program and Notes

W.A. Mozart
Sonata in B-Flat Major, K. 378
Allegro moderato Andantino sostenuto e cantabile Rondeau: Allegro
Sonata for Violin and Piano, No. 2
Larghetto Allegretto scherzando Notturno: Adagio Allegro
Johannes Brahms
Sonatensatz (Scherzo in C minor from the F.A.E. Sonata)
Johannes Brahms
Sonata No. 3 in D minor for Violin and Piano, Op. 108
Allegro Adagio Un poco presto e con sentimento Presto agitato


  • Chee Yun
  • Barry Douglas

This event has already closed.

Please use the event calendar to search for current events.

All events and artists subject to change without prior notice.

All ticket prices are subject to change based on demand. Purchase early to lock in prices and the best seats!