The Cellists of the National Symphony Orchestra with Christine Brandes, soprano

Tuesday, May 17, 2005, 7:30 PM

NSO principal David Hardy leads his section in a performance of Villa Lobos’s Bachianas Brasileras No. 5 and more.



Run Time:

1 hour 30 minutes

This event has already closed.
Please use the event calendar to search for current events.


For the final concert of the Fortas season, the entire National Symphony Orchestra cello section comes together as one sonorous unit all its own, to present a program encompassing much of the scintillating—yet not often heard—repertoire for cello ensemble. Among the highlights will be Bachianas Brasilieras No. 5, Heitor Villa-Lobos’s famous work for eight cellos and voice that pays homage to Bach and the folkloric music of Brazil. Composed in two movements—an aria sung mostly in wordless vocalise and a dansa—Bachianas Brasilieras No. 5 will showcase the NSO cello section at its best along with the superlative musicianship and communicative stage presence of American soprano Christine Brandes. The Cleveland Plain Dealer calls her voice "a gleaming instrument, with a hint of an expressive vibrato, a bull’s eye sense of pitch, and agility that honors every florid passage she touches."

Program and Notes

J.S. Bach
4 Chorales: arr. Teie for 12 Celli
"Herzlich tut mich verlangen" "Jesu Meine Freude" "Am Wasserflussen Babylon" "Komm susser Tod"
Hans Henze
Trauer-Ode for Margaret Geddes for 6 Celli
(Based on "Meine Seele erhebet den Herrn" Chorale by Bach
Igor Stravinsky
Suite Italienne: 4 celli
(arr. by Piatigorsky)
Arvo Pärt
Piece for 8 Celli and Soprano
J.S. Bach
Sarabande from the 6th Cello Suite
(arr. by Teie for 12 celli)
Bachianas Brasileiras No. 5
Neiges (1998) for 8 celli
Jean Francaix
Aubade for 12 celli

This event has already closed.

Please use the event calendar to search for current events.

All events and artists subject to change without prior notice.

All ticket prices are subject to change based on demand. Purchase early to lock in prices and the best seats!