Members of the National Symphony Orchestra: Mozart & Stravinsky: The Search for Perfection

Sunday, January 27, 2008, 7:30 PM

Members of the NSO perform classical favorites by Mozart and Stravinsky.



Run Time:

Approx. 100 minutes

This event has already closed.
Please use the event calendar to search for current events.


Mozart and Stravinsky: The Search for Perfection

"The NSO sounded like the gleaming virtuoso collective it is."
--The Washington Post

In his brief life, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart became the world's consummate classicist. Two centuries later, Igor Stravinsky reigned as the consummate neo-classicist. In this fascinating program, more than a dozen members of the National Symphony Orchestra explore these two genius composers in their pursuit of excellence. Beginning the concert with one of Mozart's expressive sonatas for violin and piano, NSO Concertmaster Nurit Bar-Josef and principal pianist Lambert Orkis are then joined by principal clarinetist Loren Kitt for a trio suite from Stravinsky's evocative "The Soldier's Tale." The program's second half is dedicated to a wind octet by each composer: Stravinsky's first masterpiece in a neo-classical style and one of the great works of the 20th century, and Mozart's radical departure from the serenade form for pairs of oboes, clarinets, horns, and bassoons.

Program and Notes

W.A. Mozart
Sonata for Violin and Piano in G major, K. 379
Igor Stravinsky
L'Histoire du Soldat for clarinet, violin, and piano
Igor Stravinsky
Octet for Winds
W.A. Mozart
Serenade for Winds in C minor, K. 388

This event has already closed.

Please use the event calendar to search for current events.

All events and artists subject to change without prior notice.

All ticket prices are subject to change based on demand. Purchase early to lock in prices and the best seats!