Fortas: International Sejong Soloists

Sunday, October 29, 2000, 2:00 PM



Run Time:

2 hrs

This event has already closed.
Please use the event calendar to search for current events.


Listen to a sample
[Requires RealPlayer]

The Kennedy Center
Fortas Chamber Music Concerts 2000-2001 Season
Joseph Kalichstein, Artistic Director

International Sejong Artists
Hyo Kang, Music Director

KIM, Monologues for Violin, Cello, and Piano
FRITZ KREISLER, Violin Concerto in the style of Vivaldi
GLAZUNOV, Suite for Strings, Op. 35

In order for 18 musicians to perform together without a conductor, each must be an imppeccable artist, possessed of the best technique and timing and willing to blend his own artistry with others. In other words, to create such a group, one must start with the best musicians--and that is exactly what this ensemble's mentor and music director did. Hyo Kang, a violin teacher at Julliard, assembled award-winning Julliard graduates to form a group who would become ensemble-in-residence and perform at the prestigious Aspen Music Festival and perform to glowing reviews around the world; "brilliant tone, pinpoint accuracy, a rare level of buoyancy" (Strad Magazine). The players represent seven countries including, Australia, China, Germany, Japan, Korea, Taiwan, and the United States. Together they've got "the right stuff; intensity, momentum, a rich, complex string sound" (The Washington Post). You will hear this ensemble in an assortment of old and new music, including a work by the distinguished composer, Earl Kim, who taught at Harvard for many years, and whose music was recently celebrated in a mini-festival by the International Sejong Soloists.

Visit the International Sejong Soloists web site.

Part of the Kennedy Center's Millennium Celebration of the Legacy and Promise of the Performing Arts.

Tickets on sale 8/10/00

This event has already closed.

Please use the event calendar to search for current events.

All events and artists subject to change without prior notice.