National Symphony Orchestra Film Festival: Metropolis

Leonard Slatkin conducts a newly compiled score for a showing of Fritz Lang's silent movie masterpiece.


$19.00 - $69.00

This event is NOT taking place at the Kennedy Center

Run Time:

1 hour, 30 min

Find Tickets

Tickets went on sale Monday, December 2, 2002 to Kennedy Center Members
Join today to receive priority purchasing and other benefits!
Tickets went on sale Wednesday, December 11, 2002 to the public.
Call Kennedy Center Information or check online regularly for last minute availability.


At the movies, one element does more than any other to heighten the suspense, enhance the romance, and ratchet up the thrills: the music. From the earliest days of cinema, filmmakers have turned to composers to help bring their art to life. Now you can hear that music performed as part of the National Symphony Orchestra's festival Soundtracks: Music and Film. This exciting festival will be co-directed by Leonard Slatkin - who, as a child in Hollywood, was mentored by leading composers and performers from cinema's golden age - and preeminent film composer John Williams, whose music has graced such seminal hits as Star Wars, E.T., Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone, and many more.

In this unique live music and film screening event, TV/movie producer and historian John Goberman premieres his newly compiled score for director Fritz Lang's 1926 silent cinematic masterpiece Metropolis. Both a compelling commentary on the Industrial Revolution and an expressionistic vision of the not-so-distant future, "Metropolis" has continued to inspire and influence filmmakers everywhere. The National Symphony Orchestra will perform music by composers from the silent film period—including selections from Arnold Schoenberg, Edward Grieg and Bela Bartok.

Please note, there will be no late seating. No one will be allowed in the Concert Hall once the performance begins—please arrive early.

Program and Notes

Arnold Schoenberg
Transfigured Night, Opus 4
Arnold Schoenberg
Chamber Symphony No. 1, Op. 9
Arnold Schoenberg
Chamber Symphony No. 2, Opus 38
Edvard Grieg
Holberg Suite, Op. 40
Gavotte and Musette
Béla Bartók
String Quartet No. 1 in A minor, Op. 7/Sz 40
Béla Bartók
String Quartet No. 2 in A minor, Op. 17


Tickets are currently not available online for this event.

All events and artists subject to change without prior notice.

All ticket prices are subject to change based on demand. Purchase early to lock in prices and the best seats!