skip navigation | text only | accessibility | site map
NSO Pops: <i>Strike Up the Band: A Gershwin Brothers Celebration</i>, Marvin Hamlisch, conductor

NSO Pops: Strike Up the Band: A Gershwin Brothers Celebration, Marvin Hamlisch, conductor

Thanksgiving weekend, Marvin Hamlisch conducts George and Ira Gershwin's unforgettable music, including selections from Porgy and Bess and Girl Crazy, plus Rhapsody in Blue, An American in Paris, and more.

  • Friday, November 24, 2006 - Saturday, November 25, 2006
  • Concert Hall
  • 2 hours
  • $20.00 - $80.00
This event has already closed.
Please use the event calendar to search for current events.


Their names are synonymous with the sounds of the Jazz Age, and they elevated musical comedy to an American art form. Thanksgiving weekend, the legacy of George and Ira Gershwin is cause for celebration when Marvin Hamlisch strikes up the NSO Pops for the brothers' unforgettable music! You'll want to "clap yo' hands" to selections from their political satire Strike Up the Band and classic opera Porgy and Bess. Enjoy "Bidin' My Time," "I Got Rhythm," and "Embraceable You," all from their romantic farce Girl Crazy. Other works on the program include George's piano masterpieces Rhapsody in Blue featuring Kevin Cole--who "stands as the best Gershwin pianist in America today" (The Chicago Tribune)--and An American in Paris. The Gershwin songbook has never sounded so 's Wonderful!

The program runs approximately 2 hours, with one 15-minute intermission.

Program and Notes

    George Gershwin
    Porgy and Bess
    George Gershwin
    George Gershwin
    Lady Be Good
    George Gershwin
    Oh Kay!
    George Gershwin
    By Strauss
    George Gershwin
    Rhapsody in Blue
    Suite George
    Kurt Weill
    Lady in the Dark
    George Gershwin
    An American in Paris


  • Marvin Hamlisch
  • Kevin Cole - Piano
  • Christiane Noll - Soprano
  • Robert Bonfiglio - Harmonica

This event has already closed.

Please use the event calendar to search for current events.

All events and artists subject to change without prior notice.