National Symphony Orchestra: Rhythms of the Americas: Manuel López-Gómez, conductor: Liam Teague, steelpan, plays Akiho: New work for Steelpan and Orchestra
Friday, May 29, 2015 - Saturday, May 30, 2015

As a follow-up to its 2012 Americas Tour, the NSO presents a rhythm-themed program including a world premiere concerto for steelpan and orchestra, music by composers from Venezuela and Argentina, and classics by Gershwin and Bernstein.

Tickets on sale now

Tickets went on sale Monday, January 26, 2015 to Kennedy Center Members
Not a Member? Join today to receive priority purchasing and other benefits!
Tickets went on sale Wednesday, February 04, 2015 to the public.
Call Kennedy Center Information or check online regularly for last minute availability.


Rhythms of the Americas

As a follow-up to its 2012 Americas Tour, the NSO presents a vibrant rhythm-themed program featuring this year's world premiere NSO Hechinger Commission. Eclectic young American composer Andy Akiho--described as "mold-breaking" and "vital" by the New York Times--has created Beneath Lighted Coffers, a brand-new concerto for steelpan and orchestra that will spotlight the NSO debut of young guest soloist Liam Teague, a native of Trinidad and Tobago hailed as the "Paganini of the Steelpan."
Guest conductor Manuel López-Gómez, one of the most exciting young talents to emerge from the internationally renowned Venezuelan music program "El Sistema," also makes his NSO debut, highlighting two works by South American composers. Antonio Estévez's Mediodía en el llano brings Venezuela's "noon on the prairie" to glorious life with haunting beauty, while Alberto Ginastera's lush Estancia Suite features music from the composer's sweeping ballet inspired by the ranches of his Argentina homeland.
The program also includes two classic works by American composers: George Gershwin's Cuban Overture, a colorful tone poem dominated by Caribbean rhythms and Cuban native percussion, and Leonard Bernstein's Symphonic Dances from West Side Story, a suite of orchestral highlights from "Somewhere," "Cool," "Mambo," "Cha-Cha," and other memorable music from the legendary Broadway musical.

Performance Timing: Part One - 35 min.; Intermission - 15 min.; Part Two - 45 min.


  • Manuel López-Gómez - Conductor
  • Liam Teague - Steelpan


Group of 20 or more?
Group Sales offers special terms and discounts for most performances.

May 2015

8:00 PM Tickets  MyTix Members

Calendar Icons

Audio Described Performance
Audio Described
Open-Captioned Performance
Sensory-Friendly Performance
Presale for donors
WNO Subscriber
Presale for WNO Subscribers
NSO Subscriber
Presale for NSO Subscribers
MyTix Performance
On sale to MyTix members
All events and artists subject to change without prior notice.