The Kennedy Center

2017 Jazz Masters

2017 NEA Jazz Masters Tribute Concert

Monday, April 3, 2017 7:30 PM


The National Endowment for the Arts will honor the 2017 NEA Jazz Masters--Dee Dee Bridgewater, Ira Gitler, Dave Holland, Dick Hyman, and Dr. Lonnie Smith--in a free concert. UPDATE on 3/1: Reservations are now closed; please see additional information below. 

Search for Current Events




2017 NEA Jazz Masters Tribute Concert
Monday, April 3, 2017
Concert Hall, 7:30 p.m.

Update Note as of 3/1: At this time, all advance tickets for this event have been reserved; however, an allotment of tickets has been held back, which will be available on the night of the concert.  In addition, tickets that have not been claimed by 7:15 p.m. on April 3, 2017 will be released and distributed to a standby line. 

This concert will also be streamed live online. Visit this page during the performance to tune in!

The National Endowment for the Arts will honor five jazz leaders--vocalist and broadcaster Dee Dee Bridgewater; author, editor, producer, and educator Ira Gitler; bassist, cellist, composer, and bandleader Dave Holland; keyboardist, composer, and arranger Dick Hyman; and organist and composer Dr. Lonnie Smith--at a free concert. Musicians ranging from NEA Jazz Master Lee Konitz and renowned vocalist Dianne Reeves, to Hammond B-3 artist Matthew Whitaker (a 15-year-old protégé of Dr. Lonnie Smith) will perform.

The tribute concert will include remarks by the 2017 NEA Jazz Masters (representing Ira Gitler will be his son, Fitz Gitler); as well as Jane Chu, chairman of the National Endowment for the Arts; Deborah F. Rutter, president of the Kennedy Center; Jason Moran, pianist and Kennedy Center artistic director for Jazz; NEA Jazz Masters Dan Morgenstern and Kenny Barron; jazz and film critic Gary Giddins; and National Medal of Arts recipient and Kennedy Center Honoree Jessye Norman.
The concert will include performances by NEA Jazz Masters Paquito D'Rivera and Lee Konitz, as well as Bill Charlap, Theo Croker, Aaron Diehl, Robin Eubanks, James Genus, Donald Harrison, Booker T. Jones, Sherrie Maricle and the Diva Jazz Orchestra, Peter Martin, Mike Moreno, China Moses, Steve Nelson, Kassa Overall, Chris Potter, Dianne Reeves, Nate Smith, Dan Tepfer, and Matthew Whitaker.

Performance Timing: 90 minutes, with no intermission.

PATRON NOTE: Reservations of up to four (4) seats for this concert are available in person at the Kennedy Center Box Office, at, or by calling (202) 467-4600 or (800) 444-1324. Order confirmations should be printed at home (note these are not tickets, but reservations), and will be valid until 7:15 p.m. on Monday, April 3.
NOTE: Reserved tickets may be picked up from the Hall of Nations Box Office beginning at 5:30 p.m. Please present your confirmation to box office personnel in exchange for reserved seat tickets. Tickets that have not been claimed by 7:15 p.m. on April 3, 2017 will be released and distributed to a stand-by line. 
If you or a member of your party require wheelchair-accessible seating or seats in the sign interpreted or captioned section, please notify box office staff of your needs when picking up your tickets. If you have questions about accessibility or would like to request an accommodation, please contact the Accessibility Office at (202) 416-8727 or