skip navigation | text only | accessibility | site map

Kennedy Center American College Theater Festival

The Harold and Mimi Steinberg National Student Playwriting Award

The National Student Playwriting Award, initiated in 1973, is part of the Michael Kanin Playwriting Awards Program. Today, The Harold and Mimi Steinberg Charitable Trust, continues the legacy of this award with the prestigious, The Harold and Mimi Steinberg National Playwriting Award. The purpose of this award is to encourage college students to write for the stage by providing the opportunity for them to collaborate with actors, directors, and others through all stages of production, including rehearsals and performances. The Harold and Mimi Steinberg National Student Playwriting Award supports the development of student-written plays through a variety of benefits, including a potential publication contract, a membership in the Dramatists Guild of America, a $2,500 cash award, and a fellowship at a nationally recognized theater, such as the Lark Play Development Center’s Residency at New York Stage & Film, the Orchard Project, Sundance Theatre Lab, the Cape Cod Theatre Project, O’Neill Playwrights’ Conference, WordBRIDGE, the Playwrights’ Center of Minneapolis, or the Kennedy Center’s Summer Playwriting Intensive. Please refer to the Rules and Procedures. The playwright and/or institution chosen for The Harold and Mimi Steinberg National Student Playwriting Award may receive the following:

  • Production of the play at the Kennedy Center as part of the KCACTF National Festival, with a five day, all-expenses-paid residency at the Center.
  • The Kennedy Center will award the winning playwright a cash prize of $2500.
  • The Kennedy Center will award the runner-up with a cash prize of $500.
  • Complimentary membership in the Dramatists Guild of America
  • Complimentary membership with the Playwrights’ Center of Minneapolis
  • An opportunity to receive a free script publication by Samuel French, Inc.
  • All-expenses-paid professional development opportunity during the summer

For other questions, refer to Rules and Procedures for the Michael Kanin Playwriting Awards Program" above.

The Harold and Mimi Steinberg National Student Playwriting Award Winners

The Swing of the Sea by Molly Hagan, Ohio University
Runner-up The Transition of Doodle Pequeño by Gabriel Jason Dean, University of Texas at Austin

The National Student Playwriting Award Winners

The Swing of the Sea by Molly Hagan, Ohio University
FALLUJAH by Evan Sanderson, Boston University
Runner-up COW PLAY by Matthew George, Yale University
diventare by Jenny Rachel Weiner, Boston University
House of Several Stories by A. John Boulanger, Texas State University
Runner-up - Dearborn Americana by Christian Krauspe, Arizona State University, produced by Western Illinois University
House Full of Letters by Kit Steinkellner, UCLA
In the Sawtooths by Dano Madden, Rutgers University, produced by Boise State University
Runner-up - Song of Miriam by Gabrielle Orcha, Boston University
Social Darwinism by Angela Gant, Playwrights' Theatre of Texas Tech University
Jasper Lake by John Kuntz, Playwrights' Theatre of Boston University
Good Morning Athens! A Rock Musical, Book, Music and Lyrics by Sean Keogh, University of Wyoming
Training Wisteria by Molly Smith Metzler, Playwrights’ Theatre of Boston University
The Lepers of Baile Baiste, by Ronan Noone, Boston Playwrights’ Theatre at Boston University
it is no desert by Dan Stroeh, Wittenberg University
Lot's Daughters by Rebecca Basham, University of New Orleans, Louisiana
Onionheads by Jesse Miller, California Institute of the Arts, Valencia
Carriage by Jerome Hairston, James Madison University, Harrisonburg, Virginia
The Last Supper Restoration, Dan O'Brien, Middlebury College, VT
An' Push da Wind Down, Lisa Harper, University of Southern California
Father's Prize Poland China, Shirley Sergent, University of New Orleans, LA
Prisoner, James A. Bell, Brigham Young University, Provo, UT
All That He Was, Larry Johnson and Cindy O'Connor, California State University-Fullerton
A Warring Absence, Jody Duncan, California State University, San Bernadino
The Art of Waiting, Rob Shin, Brown University, Providence, RI
The Lower Rooms, Eliza Anderson, Brown Unviersity, Providence, RI
Blue Collar Blues, Denise Kay Dillard, University of Minnesota, Duluth
no winner selected this year
Nijinsky: God's Mad Clown, Glenn Blumstein, University of Iowa, Iowa City
Dancers, Michael Grady, University of Arizona, Tuscon
Excursion Fare, Dennis Smith, University of Oregon, Eugene
Eleven Zulu, Patrick Sean Clark, University of Missouri, Columbia
The Bulldog and the Bear, Richard Gordon, California State University, Fullerton
The Cashier, Glen Merzer, Indiana University, Bloomington
Going On!, Glenn Treibitz, William Paterson College, Wayne, NJ
The Diviners, James Leonard, Jr., Hanover College, IN
The Authentic Life of Billy the Kid, Lee Blessing, University of Iowa, Iowa City
Sideshow, Rick Smith, Angelo State University, San Angelo, TX
Meg, Paula Vogel, Cornell University, Ithaca, NY
Conpersonas, Paul Stephen Lim, University of Kansas, Lawrence, KA
Medea: A Noh Cycle Based on the Greek Myth, Carol Sorgenfrei, University of California, Santa Barbara
The Soft Touch, Neil Cuthbert, Douglass College, New Brunswick, NJ

The Kennedy Center American College Theater Festival, part of the Rubenstein Arts Access Program, is generously funded by David and Alice Rubenstein.