skip navigation | text only | accessibility | site map

The KCACTF Latino Playwriting Award

The KCACTF Latino Playwriting Award desires to stimulate the voices of young Latino playwrights in America. The award will be presented to the author of the outstanding Latino student-written play participating in KCACTF.

  • The national award-winner will receive $2,500 and an internship to a prestigious playwriting retreat program.
  • Dramatic Publishing Company may present the winning playwright with an offer of a contract to publish, license, and market the winning play.
  • Dramatists Guild Award. The Dramatists Guild Award provides the playwright with Active membership in the Guild.
  • A grant of $500 will be made to the theater department of the college or university producing the award-winning play.

The play must be produced by a college or university or publicly presented in a "rehearsed" or "staged reading" format following a significant development process. The play must be entered, as an Associate or Participating entry, in the KCACTF. It must comply with the guidelines for scripts entered in the KCACTF Michael Kanin Playwriting Program.

For other questions, refer to "Rules and Procedures for the Michael Kanin Playwriting Awards Program" above.

Award Winners

Don Garcia and Leonard Madrid

Faculty Member Leigh Selting with 2007 KCACTF Latina/Latino Playwriting Award winners Don Garcia and Leonard Madrid

Casualties of Dreams and Sand, by Christina Hjelm, University of New Mexico
CABALLOS MUERTOS , by Law Chavez, University of New Mexico
Las Hermanas Padilla , by Tony Meneses, University of Iowa
7, Eight, 9, by Joe Luis Cedillo, University of Iowa
Maelstrom, Christopher Peña, New York University
Aurora, Leonard Madrid, University of New Mexico
2nd Place - Blu, Virginia Grise, California Institute of the Arts
2006 (co-winners)
Perla, Leonard Madrid, University of New Mexico
A Kiss for Death, Don Garcia, University of New Mexico
Things Behind the Moon, Marco Ramirez, New York University
Tecolotito by Leonard Madrid, University of New Mexico
A Place Without Seasons by Marco Ramirez, New York University
Yemaya's Belly by Quiara Alegría Hudes, Brown University
No winner selected this year
GAS, by Elizabeth Otero, University of New Mexico
A Sick World by Robert Lopez, California State University-Los Angeles
Sombra del Padre/Father's Shadow by Elvira Carrizal of the University of Minnesota, Crisis Point Theatre, Minneapolis, Minnesota