skip navigation | text only | accessibility | site map

Kennedy Center American College Theater Festival

The Rosa Parks Playwriting Award

The Rosa Parks Playwriting Award, presented in association with the Rosa & Raymond Parks Institute for Self Development, celebrates one of the great Americans of the civil rights movement, and recognizes the outstanding student or faculty-written full-length or one-act play on the subject of social justice and/or civil rights.

  • 1st Place Cash Award of $2,500 for a full-length play or $1,000 for a one-act play.
  • Professional Development Fellowship. The Kennedy Center American College Theater Festival will provide the award recipient with an all-expenses paid professional development opportunity.
  • Dramatists Guild Award. The Dramatists Guild Award provides the playwright with Active membership in the Guild.

The play must be produced by a college or university or publicly presented in a “rehearsed” or “staged reading” format following a significant development process. The play must comply with the guidelines for scripts entered in the KCACTF Michael Kanin Playwriting Program.

For other questions, refer to "Rules and Procedures for the Michael Kanin Playwriting Awards Program" above.

The Rosa Parks Playwriting Award-winners

Catch the Wall by Gabrielle Reisman, University of Texas at Austin
BORNE TO THE OCEAN by Jonathan Payne, New York University
The River Was Whiskey by Will Fancher, Boston University
Srebrenica - Damir Konjicija, University of Illinois
Runners-up -
  • Don Coyote - Daniel Frey, Arizona State University
  • South Bridge - Reginald Edmund, Ohio University
The Aperture - Sean Christopher Lewis, University of Iowa
2nd place - House Full of Letters - Kit Steinkellner, UCLA
Honorable Mention - Herschel in History - Cary Gitter, NYU

The Kennedy Center American College Theater Festival, part of the Rubenstein Arts Access Program, is generously funded by David and Alice Rubenstein.