skip navigation | text only | accessibility | site map
The Suzanne Farrell Ballet (The Suzanne Farrell Ballet’s Natalia Magnicaballi and Michael Cook in Movements for Piano and Orchestra, photo by Carol Pratt)

The Suzanne Farrell Ballet

The Suzanne Farrell Ballet returns to the Opera House with three Balanchine works (1951 version of Swan Lake, Allegro Brillante, Monumentum & Movements) and Robbins's The Concert (or The Perils of Everybody).

  • Nov. 28 - 30, 2014
  • Opera House
  • Running Time: TBA
  • $20.00 - $85.00

Tickets now on sale to Members
If you are a member, log in now to buy tickets.

If you are not a member, you can become one now to take advantage of our Ticket Priority Period. Learn how.
Tickets go on sale August 6, 2014 at 10:00 AM to the public.


The Suzanne Farrell Ballet
Suzanne Farrell, Artistic Director
with the Kennedy Center Opera House Orchestra
Scott Speck, conductor
"Tackling arduous roles…with degrees of energy, scale, detailed nuance, and musical sophistication seldom found anywhere."
--The New York Times
Swan Lake
Monumentum Pro Gesualdo
Movements for Piano and Orchestra
Allegro Brillante
The Concert (or, The Perils of Everybody)
The Kennedy Center's own ballet company returns to the Opera House for the first time since 2007 with a program that is truly one of firsts, featuring three company premieres. Led by Artistic Director Suzanne Farrell, George Balanchine's greatest muse, the company presents Balanchine's one-act Swan Lake, returning to the 1951 staging with scenery as envisioned by Balanchine himself.
The companion pieces, Monumentum Pro Gesualdo and Movements for Piano and Orchestra were originally choreographed separately but joined in performance by Balanchine in 1966 and performed together ever since. Balanchine choreographed both to music by Igor Stravinsky, a long-time collaborator. The music for Monumentum was composed to honor the 16th century composer Don Carlo Gesualdo. Stravinsky once said after seeing Movements choreographed it was "like a tour of a building for which I had drawn the plans but never explored the result."
Another company premiere, Allegro Brillante is set to Tchaikovsky's Piano Concerto No. 3. According to Maria Tallchief, on whom the piece was originally set, the ballet comes alive in the form of "an expansive Russian romanticism." With dazzling movements that are sharp and crisp, the piece truly highlights the technical skills and strong ability of the dancers. Balanchine once commented on the piece saying, "It contains everything I know about the classical ballet in 13 minutes."
The final premiere is by another of Ms. Farrell's mentors, dancer and choreographer Jerome Robbins. Delightfully witty, The Concert (or, The Perils of Everybody) portrays an all-Chopin piano recital gone wrong. Accompanied by an onstage pianist, the quirky recital-goers' imaginations result in laugh-out-loud antics and great dancing--a genuine crowd-pleaser.

Performance Timing: TBA


All events and artists subject to change without prior notice.

Group of 20 or more? Group Sales offers special terms and discounts for most performances.

Calendar Icons
Audio Described Performance
Audio Described
Open-Captioned Performance
Sensory-Friendly Performance
Exclusive presale to donors
WNO Subscriber
Exclusive presale to WNO Subscribers
NSO Subscriber
Exclusive presale to NSO Subscribers
MyTix Performance
On sale to MyTix members
November 2014
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday