skip navigation | text only | accessibility | site map
Robert McDuffie (Photo of Robert McDuffie)

Robert McDuffie, violin; Christopher Taylor, piano; and Friends

The two renowned musicians open the Fortas season with Beethoven's transfixing Sonata No. 4 for Violin and Piano and more.

This event has already closed.
Please use the event calendar to search for current events.


A Grand Beginning to the Season

McDuffie is "a musician of probing intelligence and a force of great vitality...a treasure."
--San Francisco Chronicle

Taylor performs with "an infectious zest and real sense of music-drama."
--The Boston Globe

One of the most captivating violinists of his generation, Grammy nominee Robert McDuffie elicits spontaneous emotion from everything he plays--from the Tchaikovsky and Mendelssohn concertos to Viennese favorites and works by Philip Glass. Christopher "Kit" Taylor, a medal winner at the Van Cliburn International Piano Competition, is renowned for his performances of Romantic piano concertos and late 20th-century music. In November 2005, their collaboration was a highlight of the Fortas season; the duo now reunites for one of Beethoven's transfixing sonatas for violin and piano and Stravinsky's Suite italienne for Violin and Piano. They are also joined by special guests for Pulitzer Prize winner Paul Moravec's innovative musical exploration of the history of time, complemented by visual projections.

Program and Notes

Sonata No. 4 for Violin and Piano in A minor, Op. 23
Suite Italienne
The Time Gallery (2001)
Nadine Asin, flute; Derek Bermel, clarinet; Sophie Chao, cello; Jonathan Haas, percussion; Peter Cruz, percussion; Michael Barrett, conductor
All events and artists subject to change without prior notice.

Group of 20 or more? Group Sales offers special terms and discounts for most performances.

This event has already closed.

Please use the event calendar to search for current events.