skip navigation | text only | accessibility | site map
Leonidas Kavakos ()

National Symphony Orchestra: Iván Fischer, conductor/Leonidas Kavakos, violin, plays Mendelssohn (Thu. & Sat.) & Tchaikovsky (Fri.)

NSO Principal Conductor Iván Fischer leads a new work by Daniel Kellogg plus Tchaikovsky's Symphony No. 5. Leonidas Kavakos also performs Violin Concertos by Mendelssohn (Thu. & Sat.) and Tchaikovsky (Fri.).

  • Apr. 16 - 18, 2009
  • Concert Hall
  • Approx. 2 hours
  • $20.00 - $80.00
This event has already closed.
Please use the event calendar to search for current events.


AfterWords: Thu., Apr. 16 performance followed by a free discussion with Iván Fischer, Leonidas Kavakos, and Nigel Boon.

Program and Notes

 Western Skies
Commissioned by the National Symphony Orchestra of Washington, D.C., through a generous gift from the John and June Hechinger Commissioning Fund for New Orchestral Works
 Violin Concerto in E minor, Op. 64
Thursday and Saturday
 Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 35
 Symphony No. 5 in E minor, Op. 64

News and Reviews

Watch and Listen

Meet the Musician: Iván Fischer On His Influences

Meet the Musician: Iván Fischer On Mahler

Meet the Musician: Iván Fischer On Rhythm

Meet the Musician: Iván Fischer On What He Wants to Achieve in a Concert

All events and artists subject to change without prior notice.

Group of 20 or more? Group Sales offers special terms and discounts for most performances.

Online ticketing is currently unavailable

In order to provide the best possible service, we are performing maintenance on our online ticketing system. Please check back in a couple of hours, or call Instant Charge at (202) 467-4600 or (800) 444-1324 during normal business hours. We apologize for the inconvenience and appreciate your patience.