skip navigation | text only | accessibility | site map
Sol Gabetta (uncredited)

National Symphony Orchestra: John Storgårds, conductor / Sol Gabetta, cello, plays Shostakovich

Finland's John Storgårds returns to the NSO to conduct Shostakovich's First Cello Concerto featuring Sol Gabetta, winner of Gramophone's 2010 Young Artist Award. The program also includes Schumann's "Spring" Symphony and a classic by Britten.

Tickets on sale now

Tickets went on sale July 29, 2013 to Kennedy Center Members
Not a member? Join today to receive priority purchasing and other benefits!
Tickets went on sale August 7, 2013 to the public
Call Kennedy Center Information or check online regularly for last-minute availability.


Sol Gabetta invites you to these concerts--watch her invitation!

Finland's John Storgårds--renowned for his "exact, polished touch" (The Times of London)--returns to the NSO to conduct Dmitri Shostakovich's First Cello Concerto featuring Sol Gabetta, winner of ECHO Klassik's 2009 Artist of the Year Award and Gramophone's 2010 Young Artist Award. "Rich and lovely, her playing is impressive," said the Washington Post of her 2008 debut with the NSO, in which she played Shostakovich's Second Cello Concerto.
Shostakovich composed his profound and expressive First Cello Concerto for the late Mstislav Rostropovich, the NSO's beloved former Music Director. Brimming with Russian character, the work resonates with a conspicuous sense of urgency, culminating in a triumphant, life-affirming finale.
The program begins with Benjamin Britten's Variations on a Theme of Frank Bridge, an affectionate homage to his mentor based on a theme from one of Bridge's string quartets. It is the work that first brought Britten to international attention.
Concluding the program is Robert Schumann's "Spring" Symphony. The composer once noted: "I wrote the symphony in that rush of spring which carries a man away even in his old age, and comes over him anew every year." Beginning with a trumpet call suggesting spring's awakening, the symphony moves from evocations of a mellow evening reverie to a jubilant farewell to the season, heralding summer's sunny arrival.

Performance Timing:  Part One - 58 min.; Intermission - 15 min.; Part Two - 30 min.


  • John Storgårds (Marco Borggreve) John Storgårds, conductor
  • Sol Gabetta (Marco Borggreve 2013) Sol Gabetta, cello
All events and artists subject to change without prior notice.

Group of 20 or more? Group Sales offers special terms and discounts for most performances.

Calendar Icons
Audio Described Performance
Audio Described
Open-Captioned Performance
Sensory-Friendly Performance
Exclusive presale to donors
WNO Subscriber
Exclusive presale to WNO Subscribers
NSO Subscriber
Exclusive presale to NSO Subscribers
MyTix Performance
On sale to MyTix members

Performance information is unavailable for this event.