skip navigation | text only | accessibility | site map
Tzimon Barto (uncredited)

National Symphony Orchestra: Christoph Eschenbach, conductor: Tzimon Barto, piano, plays Rihm's Piano Concerto / Works by Berlioz & Dvorák

Known for "brilliant fireworks" (Washington Post), Tzimon Barto plays a U.S. premiere NSO co-commissioned piano concerto by Wolfgang Rihm. Also on the program: Berlioz's Symphonie fantastique and Dvorák's Carnival Overture.

  • Jan. 15 - 17, 2015
  • Concert Hall
  • Approx. 2 hours
  • $10.00 - $85.00

Tickets on sale now

Tickets went on sale September 22, 2014 to Kennedy Center Members
Not a member? Join today to receive priority purchasing and other benefits!
Tickets went on sale October 1, 2014 to the public
Call Kennedy Center Information or check online regularly for last-minute availability.


London's The Guardian calls composer Wolfgang Rihm "one of the most radical figures writing today." His new piano concerto, created for the "brilliant fireworks" (The Washington Post) of Tzimon Barto and co-commissioned by the NSO, enjoyed its world premiere at this past summer's Salzburg Festival before coming to Washington. Raves NSO concertgoer Alex S.: "Kudos to the NSO for commissioning new works that help redefine the concert experience!" Also on the program: Berlioz's Symphonie fantastique and Dvorák's Carnival Overture.

NSO principals on Berlioz's Symphonie fantastique:

"Symphony fantastique is an authoritative example of musical storytelling. From multiple timpanists to dueling bass drums, Berlioz gave special treatment to the percussionists. The distant tolling of church bells is one of my favorite moments."
--Eric Shin, NSO principal percussion 

"Berlioz's Symphonie fantastique is one of my favorite examples of how music can tell a story. The orchestra creates such interesting colors throughout this piece--I especially love the moment in the finale when the strings play using the wood of their bows."
--Adriana Horne, NSO principal harp

Performance Timing: Part One - 40 min.; Intermission - 15 min.; Part Two - 45 min.

Program and Notes

 Carnival Overture, Op. 92
Piano Concerto No. 2
(NSO co-commission, U.S. premiere)
 Symphonie fantastique, Op. 14


All events and artists subject to change without prior notice.

Group of 20 or more? Group Sales offers special terms and discounts for most performances.

Calendar Icons
Audio Described Performance
Audio Described
Open-Captioned Performance
Sensory-Friendly Performance
Exclusive presale to donors
WNO Subscriber
Exclusive presale to WNO Subscribers
NSO Subscriber
Exclusive presale to NSO Subscribers
MyTix Performance
On sale to MyTix members

This event is part of these subscription series:

January 2015
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday