skip navigation | text only | accessibility | site map
Matthias Pintscher (uncredited)

National Symphony Orchestra: Matthias Pintscher, conductor: Karen Gomyo, violin, plays Pintscher's Mar'eh / Works by Fauré & Ravel

Matthias Pintscher conducts the U.S. premiere of his violin concerto with "first-rate" (Chicago Tribune) violinist Karen Gomyo, Fauré's Pelléas et Mélisande Suite, and Ravel's Daphnis et Chloé.

  • Feb. 19 - 21, 2015
  • Concert Hall
  • Approx. 2 hours
  • $10.00 - $85.00

Tickets on sale now

Tickets went on sale November 24, 2014 to Kennedy Center Members
Not a member? Join today to receive priority purchasing and other benefits!
Tickets went on sale December 3, 2014 to the public
Call Kennedy Center Information or check online regularly for last-minute availability.


Titled after the Hebrew word for face, sign, or beautiful vision, young composer/conductor Matthew Pintscher's 2011 mosaic-like violin concerto Mar'eh weaves together delicate, ultra-precise solo passages with unusual playing techniques for the orchestra. Pintscher--whose works NSO Music Director Christoph Eschenbach has helped champion--leads the NSO in the work's U.S. premiere featuring "first-rate" (The Chicago Tribune) violinist Karen Gomyo. The program also includes Fauré's Pelléas et Mélisande Suite, and Ravel's complete Daphnis et Chloé.

Alice Weinreb, NSO flute, on the program:
"I love playing Ravel's Daphnis and Chloé. It has challenging flute parts for all four players in our section: two flutes, piccolo, and alto flute, including the most famous orchestral flute solo in the literature. The piece is colorful and inspiring and makes the whole orchestra sound lush and exciting. Fauré's Pelléas et Mélisande Suite is also a favorite of mine; it's the essence of French elegance. I'm also intrigued to have Matthias Pintscher, a wonderful composer, conducting both of these great French works, as well as a new violin concerto of his own. It's always great to have a direct line from composer to the orchestra."
Adriana Horne, NSO principal harp, on the program:
"Getting to play Fauré and Ravel is always such a treat as a harpist! In particular, Ravel's Daphnis et Chloé is so beautiful and one of my favorite pieces to play. I'm also excited for the U.S. premiere of Matthias Pintscher's violin concerto Mar'eh."

Performance Timing: Part One - 42 min.; Intermission - 15 min.; Part Two - 55 min.
Thu., Feb. 19 performance followed by a free discussion with the artists and NSO Director of Artistic Planning Nigel Boon.

Program and Notes



All events and artists subject to change without prior notice.

Group of 20 or more? Group Sales offers special terms and discounts for most performances.

Calendar Icons
Audio Described Performance
Audio Described
Open-Captioned Performance
Sensory-Friendly Performance
Exclusive presale to donors
WNO Subscriber
Exclusive presale to WNO Subscribers
NSO Subscriber
Exclusive presale to NSO Subscribers
MyTix Performance
On sale to MyTix members

This event is part of these subscription series:

February 2015
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday