skip navigation | text only | accessibility | site map
Gift Shop

Book - Notes on Mendelssohn

Image of Book - Notes on Mendelssohn

Reduce Image

Tell a Friend
** Sale was $10.00 now $6.00 Sale **
by Conrad Wilson

Perhaps the greatest child prodigy in the history of Western music, Felix Mendelssohn nonetheless is frequently dismissed today as a victim of creative burnout, says Conrad Wilson. Here, Wilson argues that Mendelssohn's genius not only stayed intact but gained new intensity in the years before his premature death.

He examines such works as The Hebrides Overture, Op. 26; Symphony No. 4 in A Major, Op. 90 ("Italian"); and String Quartet in F Minor, Op. 80. The Notes On... series by the distinguished music critic and longtime program director of the Edinburgh International Festival illuminates the music of some of the greatest composers of the Western canon in the context of their private lives. Wilson selects 20 key works, discusses these masterpieces with verve and insight, and explains the importance of the works in the composer's oeuvre. Perhaps most important, Wilson highlights choice recordings of the music he discusses.
  • Paperback
  • 120 pages
  • 6 inches x 6 inches

Item Price: $2.00
Member Price: $2.00