National Symphony Orchestra Association Board of Directors
Christoph Eschenbach - Music Director

The NSO Board of Directors is comprised of civic, business, cultural and philanthropic leaders with interests in the Washington metropolitan area. The NSO Board is the governing body of the National Symphony Orchestra and helps to direct and carry out the artistic mission of the NSO. The Board meets four times annually and participates in many social functions and events with NSO Musicians and guest artists throughout the year.


  • Mrs. Jeanne Weaver Ruesch - Chairman
  • Mr. Terry D. McCallister - President
  • Ms. Anne K. Altman - Treasurer
  • Mrs. Linda Bell Mercuro - Secretary
  • Mr. Earl W. Stafford, Sr. - Vice President, Community Development
  • Mrs. Cherrie W. Doggett - Vice President, Development and Special Events
  • Ms. Joan Bialek - Vice President, Nomination and Membership
  • Executive Committee
    (Composed of the officers of the Association and the following)

    • Dr. Christine Dingivan
    • Ms. Thelma Duggin
    • Mrs. Ann B. Friedman
    • Mrs. Irene Pollin
    • Mr. Roger W. Sant
    • Mrs. Tina B. Small

    (in addition to officers and members of executive committee)

    • Mr. Ronald D. Abramson
    • Mr. Martin K. Alloy
    • Mr. Norman Bernstein
    • Mr. Michael F. Brewer
    • Mrs. Jane Lipton Cafritz
    • Mrs. Patricia Carroll, ex officio
    • Mrs. Rose Carter
    • The Hon. John K. Delaney
    • Ms. Debbie Driesman
    • Mr. J. Edward Fowler, Lifetime Dir.
    • The Hon. Barbara H. Franklin
    • Mrs. Norma Lee Funger
    • Mrs. Phyllis Gerstell
    • Mr. Michael L. Golden
    • Ms. Helen Lee Henderson
    • Ms. Helen Jackson
    • Mrs. Sydney McNiff Johnson
    • Mrs. Ann D. Jordan
    • Dr. Steven Knapp
    • Mrs. Elise Gelman Lefkowitz
    • Mr. Noel Levine
    • Mrs. Mary P. Marsh, Lifetime Dir.
    • The Hon. Doris O. Matsui
    • Mr. Michael Mayton, ex officio
    • Mrs. Cathy McCulloch
    • Mr. Mark A. Moore
    • Mr. Richard Moxley
    • Ms. Barbara Mullenex
    • Mrs. Pat Munroe
    • Mrs. Maria Benilde Ortiz
    • Dr. Annette U. Rickel
    • Mr. James E. Rogers
    • Ms. Patricia B. Sagon
    • Mrs. Constance Milstein de La Haye St. Hilaire
    • Mr. Michael Salzberg
    • Mrs. Martha Schwieters
    • The Hon. Leonard L. Silverstein
    • Mrs. Leonard L. Silverstein
    • Mr. Albert H. Small

National Symphony Orchestra Association National Trustees

The National Trustees are an important resource for the National Symphony Orchestra. They provide financial support for the Orchestra's education programs, projects, and national and international touring programs. Additionally, they offer counsel to the Board of Directors in matters regarding the national and international scope of the Orchestra's activities.


  • Ms. Jessine Monaghan, DC - Chairman
  • Mrs. Eileen Meldrum, NY - President
  • Ms. Ilene Zatkin Butler, NY - Secretary
  • Mr. Randolph J. Agley, MI - Treasurer & Vice-President, Development Commitee
  • Ms. Theresa Thompson, VA - Vice-President, Membership & Communications Committee
  • Mr. Jerome F. Trautschold, FL - Vice-President, Summer Music Institute, Programs & Outreach Committee
  • Mrs. Anne Russell, TN - Vice-President, Special Events & Meetings Committee
  • Ex-Officio Positions Mr. Noel Levine, NY - Chairman Emeritus
  • Mrs. Mary K. Abercrombie, ID - Past Chairman
  • Mr. Randolph J. Agley, MI - Past Chairman


Mrs. Susan Bentley - FL
Mr. Michael Brewer* - District of Columbia
Mr. Kenneth Broder - Dominican Republic
Ms. Shirley Chann - AZ
Mrs. Lucy L. Danis* - MO
Ms. Nancy J. Davis - FL
Mr. E. Donald Elliott - District of Columbia
Ms. Elizabeth Fago - FL
Mr. John Farrer - NM
Mrs. Jennifer Fischer - MI
Mr. Lawrence P. Fisher, II* - MD
Mrs. Mary Galvin - IL
Mr. John A. Giampetroni - MI
Mr. Melvin J. Gordon - IL
Mrs. Lola Green - CA
Mrs. Seeme Hasan - CO
Mrs. Karyn Kennedy-Herterich - NC
Mr. Khaled Juffali - Saudi Arabia
Mrs. Carolyn June Kaplan - MD
Mrs. Lou C. Kerr - OK
MMs. Martha McCarty Kimmerling - TX
Mr. Michael Mayton* - AR
Mrs. Noemi Neidorff* - MO
Mrs. Sally G. Phinny - WA
Mrs. Patty Levaur Rome - CA
Mr. Richard L. Sias - OK
Mr. Timothy J. Volk - IL
Mr. David Worby - NY
Dr. Omar Zawawi - Oman

*Executive Committee Member-At-Large
As of January 2012

Contact Information

  • National Symphony Orchestra
    John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts
    2700 F Street, NW
    Washington, DC 20566
    Phone: 202-416-8100
    Fax: 202-416-8105

    Mailing Address:
    P.O. Box 101510
    Arlington, VA 22210