National Symphony Orchestra Association Board of Directors
Christoph Eschenbach - Music Director

The NSO Board of Directors is comprised of civic, business, cultural and philanthropic leaders with interests in the Washington metropolitan area. The NSO Board is the governing body of the National Symphony Orchestra and helps to direct and carry out the artistic mission of the NSO. The Board meets four times annually and participates in many social functions and events with NSO musicians and guest artists throughout the year.


  • Jeanne Weaver Ruesch, Chairman
  • Ronald D. Abramson, President
  • Brian P. Brooks, Treasurer

  • Linda Bell Mercuro, Secretary
  • Earl W. Stafford, Sr., Vice President, Community Development
  • Cherrie W. Doggett, Vice President, Development and Special Events
  • Mark A. Moore, Vice President, Nomination and Membership

Executive Committee
(Composed of the officers of the Association and the following)

  • Ann B. Friedman, Chairman, Audience Development Committee
  • Michael L. Golden, Chairman, Corporate Development Committee
  • Roger W. Sant, Chairman, Artistic Task Force

  • Joan Bialek
  • Michael F. Brewer
  • Sela T. Collins
  • Thelma Duggin
  • Thomas C. Green
  • Sydney McNiff Johnson
  • Tina B. Small

(in addition to officers and members of executive committee)

  • Martin K. Alloy
  • Anne K. Altman
  • Norman Bernstein
  • Jane Lipton Cafritz
  • Rose Carter
  • Maria R. Clarke
  • Shannon McCormick Davis
  • John K. Delaney
  • Christine Dingivan
  • Debbie Driesman
  • Deborah L. Epstein
  • Barbara H. Franklin
  • Norma Lee Funger
  • Helen Lee Henderson
  • Helen Jackson
  • Jo Ann C. Jenkins
  • Ann D. Jordan
  • Lisa La Luna
  • Elise Gelman Lefkowitz
  • Jan M. Lodal
  • Mary P. Marsh, Lifetime Dir.
  • Doris O. Matsui
  • Michael Mayton, ex officio
  • Kymm McCabe
  • Terry D. McCallister
  • Cathy McCulloch
  • Constance Milstein
  • Richard Moxley
  • Mary Munroe
  • Irene Pollin
  • Annette U. Rickel
  • Patricia B. Sagon
  • Michael Salzberg
  • Martha Schwieters
  • Elaine W. Silverstein
  • Leonard L. Silverstein
  • Albert H. Small
  • Carmel C. Thompson, ex officio

National Symphony Orchestra National Trustees

The National Trustees are an important resource for the National Symphony Orchestra. They provide financial support for the Orchestra's education programs, projects, and national and international touring programs. Additionally, they offer counsel to the Board of Directors in matters regarding the national and international scope of the Orchestra's activities.


  • Chairman:  Michael Mayton, AR
  • President: Gail Charnley Elliott, CT
  • Secretary:  Anne Russell, TN
  • Treasurer & Vice-President, Development Committee: Victoria Stack, VA
  • Vice-President, Membership & Communications Committee: Karyn Kennedy Herterich, NC
  • Vice-President, Summer Music Institute, Programs & Outreach Committee: Carol Cobb Rochford, TN
  • Vice-President, Special Events & Meetings Committee: Theresa Thompson, VA
  • Ex-Officio Positions
  • Past Chairman: Jessine Monaghan, District of Columbia
  • Past Chairman:  Mary K. Abercrombie, ID
  • Past Chairman:  Noémi Neidorff, MO


  • Michael Brewer, District of Columbia
  • Shirley Chann, AZ
  • Richard Coursey, ND
  • Jeri Scudder Crawford, NV
  • Nancy J. Davis*, FL
  • Maureen Dingivan, NC
  • John Farrer, NM
  • Glenn F. Finch, VA
  • Jennifer Fischer, MI
  • Mary Galvin, IL
  • Seeme Hasan, CO
  • Morgan K. Herterich*, SC
  • Margaret Johnston*, CT
  • Khaled Juffali, Saudi Arabia
  • Carolyn June Kaplan, MD
  • Gerald L. Kohlenberger, VA
  • Lou C. Kerr, OK
  • Bernadette Piacek-Llanes, MN
  • Melody Sawyer Richardson, OH
  • Patty Levaur Rome, CA
  • Jerome  F.Trautschold*, FL
  • Timothy J. Volk, IL
  • Marvin Williams, TX
  • John Wohlstetter*,  SC
  • Stephen T. Young, GA

*Executive Committee Member-At-Large