Fortas Chamber Music Concert: Anonymous 4

Wed., Nov. 28, 2012, 7:30 PM
Terrace Theater
Running Time: TBA
Tickets On Sale: 8/8/2012
Price Range: $38.00 - $38.00

Anonymous 4
Marsha Genesky
Ruth Cunningham
Jacqueline Horner-Kwiatek
Susan Hellauer
"Anonymous 4 remains as spellbinding as ever." 
--Denver Post
Beloved a cappella singing group Anonymous 4 brings "love fail," a collaboration with Pulitzer Prize–winning composer David Lang, who was recently named Musical America's Composer of the Year for 2013. The evening-length work is based in part on the lais (short, rhymed tales of love and chivalry) of medieval author Marie de France, from whose works comes a version of the Tristan and Isolde story. The lais are rewritten with episodes from other medieval tales of doomed courtly love, and the libretto also includes words by MacArthur Genius Award recipient Lydia Davis. A co-commission of the Fortas Chamber Music Concert Series, the work will be a staged concert piece in the Terrace Theater with lighting by Jennifer Tipton.
Acclaimed for their unearthly vocal blend and virtuosic ensemble singing, the four women of Anonymous 4 combine historical scholarship with contemporary performance intuition to create their magical sound. The New York Times calls them "stellar," lauding their impressive vocal blend, purity of tone and distinctive individual voices."

This event has already closed.

Please use the event calendar to search for current events.