Fortas Chamber Music Concert: Jaime Laredo and Jennifer Koh with the Curtis Chamber Orchestra

Thu., Mar. 14, 2013, 7:30 PM
Terrace Theater
Running Time: Approx. 100 minutes
Tickets On Sale: 5/12/2012
Price Range: $45.00 - $45.00

"Always in stunning control and full of drama"
--The Washington Post

In "Two x Four" (Two Violinists x Four Composers), violinists Jaime Laredo and Jennifer Koh are joined by the Curtis Chamber Orchestra to perform in Bach's Concerto for Two Violins, Strings and Continuo (BWV 1043) on a program that also includes two commissioned double concertos from Anna Clyne and David Ludwig that were inspired by Bach's Double and Philip Glass's Echorus.
"I created this project, ‘Two x Four,' as a musical means to honor our teachers, who are our thread to a long performance tradition," said Jennifer Koh, who studied with Jaime Laredo at the Curtis Institute. The Strad calls Koh "a risk-taking, high-octane player of the kind who grabs the listener by the ears and refuses to let go. Unlike so many players of this temperament however, she supports her mesmerizing flights of fancy with a beguilingly silvery tone, fabulous technique and dead center intonation."
For the second half of the concert, the Curtis Chamber Orchestra conducted by Jaime Laredo will play Tchaikovsky's Serenade for Strings.

This event has already closed.

Please use the event calendar to search for current events.