National Symphony Orchestra: John StorgÄrds, conductor / Sol Gabetta, cello, plays Shostakovich

Nov. 7 - 9, 2013
Concert Hall
Running Time: 1 hour, 43 minutes
Tickets On Sale: 7/8/2013
Price Range: $10.00 - $85.00

Sol Gabetta invites you to these concerts--watch her invitation!

Finland's John StorgÄrds--renowned for his "exact, polished touch" (The Times of London)--returns to the NSO to conduct Dmitri Shostakovich's First Cello Concerto featuring Sol Gabetta, winner of ECHO Klassik's 2009 Artist of the Year Award and Gramophone's 2010 Young Artist Award. "Rich and lovely, her playing is impressive," said the Washington Post of her 2008 debut with the NSO, in which she played Shostakovich's Second Cello Concerto.
Shostakovich composed his profound and expressive First Cello Concerto for the late Mstislav Rostropovich, the NSO's beloved former Music Director. Brimming with Russian character, the work resonates with a conspicuous sense of urgency, culminating in a triumphant, life-affirming finale.
The program begins with Benjamin Britten's Variations on a Theme of Frank Bridge, an affectionate homage to his mentor based on a theme from one of Bridge's string quartets. It is the work that first brought Britten to international attention.
Concluding the program is Robert Schumann's "Spring" Symphony. The composer once noted: "I wrote the symphony in that rush of spring which carries a man away even in his old age, and comes over him anew every year." Beginning with a trumpet call suggesting spring's awakening, the symphony moves from evocations of a mellow evening reverie to a jubilant farewell to the season, heralding summer's sunny arrival.

Performance Timing:  Part One - 58 min.; Intermission - 15 min.; Part Two - 30 min.

This event has already closed.

Please use the event calendar to search for current events.