National Symphony Orchestra: Neeme Järvi, conductor / Alice Sara Ott, piano, plays Liszt

Nov. 14 - 16, 2013
Concert Hall
Running Time: 1 hour, 45 minutes
Tickets On Sale: 7/8/2013
Price Range: $10.00 - $85.00

NEW VIDEO! Alice Sara Ott invites you to her concerts (in a very creative way).

Estonian conductor Neeme Järvi--hailed by BBC Music Magazine as "a grand master"--returns to the NSO to lead Franz Liszt's Piano Concerto No. 2 featuring the NSO debut of German-Japanese pianist Alice Sara Ott. Says the Guardian: "Her technique is dazzling, her tone wonderfully varied--from crystalline purity to powerfully raw."
A work of rhapsodic sweep cast in a single movement, Liszt's Piano Concerto No. 2 is a stunning illustration of sustained virtuosity. Alice Sara Ott brings to life this dazzling masterpiece--one of the most beloved works in the Romantic repertoire--in all its blazing marches, climactic glissandos, and piano arabesques.
Järvi also conducts excerpts from Sergei Prokofiev's passionate score for the ballet Romeo and Juliet, based on Shakespeare's timeless tragedy of star-crossed lovers. Among the composer's most often-played scores, this immensely popular music soars with exquisite melodies.
The program begins with an orchestral suite from Háry János, Zoltán Kodály's 1926 folk opera based on the comic Hungarian epic The Veteran. According to the composer, this delightful music follows "a peasant, a veteran soldier who day after day sits at the tavern spinning yarns about his heroic exploits."

Performance Timing:  Part One - 46 min.; Intermission - 15 min.; Part Two - 45 min.

Organ Postlude:
Thu., Nov. 14 performance followed by a mini-recital with soloist Jeremy Filsell on the Kennedy Center Concert Hall's Rubenstein Family Organ, free with purchase of concert ticket.

This event has already closed.

Please use the event calendar to search for current events.