The 15th Annual Mark Twain Prize for American Humor: Ellen DeGeneres

Mon., Oct. 22, 2012, 8:30 PM
Concert Hall
Running Time: 2 hours
Tickets On Sale: 8/8/2012
Price Range: $75.00 - $200.00

The Kennedy Center awards the fifteenth annual Mark Twain Prize for American Humor to Ellen DeGeneres, one of America's--and the world's--foremost humorists in a star-studded show filled with fun and laughter. There will be appearances by Kristin Chenoweth, Steve Harvey, Sean Hayes, Jimmy Kimmel, John Krasinski, John Leguizamo, Jane Lynch, Jason Mraz, Lily Tomlin, Loudon Wainwright III, and others.

Upon learning she will receive the Mark Twain Prize, DeGeneres remarked, "It's such an honor to receive the Mark Twain Prize. To get the same award that has been given to people like Bill Cosby, Tina Fey, and Will Ferrell, it really makes me wonder… why didn't I get this sooner?"

A beloved television icon and entertainment pioneer, Ellen DeGeneres's distinctive comic voice has resonated with audiences from her first stand-up comedy appearances through her work today on television, in film, and in the literary world.

Past recipients of the Kennedy Center Mark Twain Prize are Richard Pryor, Jonathan Winters, Carl Reiner, Whoopi Goldberg, Bob Newhart, Lily Tomlin, Lorne Michaels, Steve Martin, Neil Simon, Billy Crystal, George Carlin, Bill Cosby, Tina Fey, and Will Ferrell.

The program will be taped by WETA Washington, D.C. for airing on PBS stations nationwide on October 30, 2012 (check local listings). For more information about the events surrounding the Mark Twain Prize, please e-mail or call (202) 416-8335.

Performance Timing:  2 hours, with no intermission.

This event has already closed.

Please use the event calendar to search for current events.