Board of Trustees

The Washington National Opera (WNO) Board is the governing body of one of the nation's leading producing opera companies, now an affiliate of the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts. The Board's purpose is to advocate, enhance and support the art of Opera through the Kennedy Center. The Board ensures that there is effective planning for WNO's future, implementation of strong programs and services, and monitoring of its goals.


  • Mrs. Eugene B. Casey, Life Chairman
  • Jacqueline Badger Mars, Chairman
  • Robert B. Downing, President
  • Ellen S. Berelson, Secretary
  • Billy Cox, Treasurer

Executive Committee

  • Ellen S. Berelson
  • Camille S. Biros
  • Jane Lipton Cafritz
  • Mrs. Eugene B. Casey
  • Billy Cox
  • Jeffrey P. Cunard
  • Robert B. Downing
  • Kenneth R. Feinberg
  • James A. Feldman
  • Jacqueline Badger Mars
  • Mrs. Constance Milstein de La Haye St. Hilaire
  • Anne Kline Pohanka
  • John J. Pohanka


  • Roswitha S. Augusta
  • Monica Lind Greenberg
  • Mr. Ian M. Jefferson
  • Eric J. Larsen
  • Kristen Lund
  • Ms. Marcia V. Mayo
  • The Hon. Mary V. Mochary
  • Mrs. Frederick Prince
  • The Hon. Selwa S. Roosevelt
  • Mrs. Robin Sagoskin
  • Sybil Shainwald
  • Dorothy M. Woodcock
  • Nancy M. Zirkin

Honorary Trustees

  • Mrs. Charles J. DiBona
  • Mrs. Patrick J. Leahy
  • Jill Cooper Udall