The Kennedy Center

Central Australian Aboriginal Women’s Choir


The Central Australian Aboriginal Women’s Choir (CAAWC) was formed in 2010 and comprises constituent choirs from six remote Indigenous communities in the Northern Territory, namely, the Hermannsburg Ladies Choir (Ntaria) the Areyonga Ladies Choir (Utju), the Titjikala Choir, the Mutitjulu Choir, the Docker River Choir (Kaltukatjara) and the Mission Block Choir of Alice Springs. The CAAWC is the custodian of a continuous choral tradition stretching back almost 120 years to the time when German mission pioneers first contacted the Western Arrarnta speaking community of Ntaria.