The Kennedy Center


Fortas Chamber Music Concerts: Takács Quartet with Garrick Ohlsson

Tuesday, March 12, 2019 7:30 PM

Fortas Chamber Music Concerts

The Grammy®-winning Takács Quartet return with their trademark blend of drama, spirit, and levity. Star pianist Garrick Ohlsson joins them for Elgar’s Piano Quintet.

Search for Current Events


Edward Dusinberre, violin
Harumi Rhodes, violin
Geraldine Walther, viola
András Fejér, cello
Garrick Ohlsson, piano

JOSEPH HAYDN: String Quartet in G major
BÉLA BARTÓK: String Quartet No. 6
EDWARD ELGAR: Piano Quintet

One of the world's best string quartets, the Grammy®-winning Takács return with their trademark blend of drama, spirit, and levity. Imbuing fervor and fresh insight into each piece, these musicians are the perfect match for the intimacy of the Terrace Theater, as the group "knows how to use a warm, inviting acoustic to make a listener lean in and savor tiny musical details" (Washington Classical Review). Star pianist Garrick Ohlsson, “a musician of magisterial interpretive and technical prowess” (The Seattle Times), joins the Takács for Elgar’s Piano Quintet.

A Note from Joseph "Yossi" Kalichstein, Artistic Director of Fortas
A double welcome hug! One for returning favorites, the Takács… and one for new guest Garrick Ohlsson, a pianist of enormous stature. Together they’ll perform one of my favorite chamber music masterpieces, the Elgar Quintet, a piece of unbridled imagination and deeply felt emotions—truly a grand farewell gesture to a world gone by. As if that’s not enough, preceding the Elgar are two valedictory works from Haydn and Bartók.