The Kennedy Center

NEA Jazz Masters

2016 NEA Jazz Masters Tribute Concert

Monday, April 4, 2016 8:00 PM

The National Endowment for the Arts honors the 2016 NEA Jazz Masters--Gary Burton, Wendy Oxenhorn, Pharoah Sanders, and Archie Shepp--in a free concert hosted by Jason Moran. 

Search for Current Events


2016 NEA Jazz Masters Tribute Concert
Monday, April 4, 2016
Concert Hall, 8 p.m.

The National Endowment for the Arts will honor four jazz leaders--vibraphonist, bandleader, and educator Gary Burton; musician's advocate Wendy Oxenhorn; saxophonist and composer Pharoah Sanders; and saxophonist, composer, and educator Archie Shepp--at a free concert hosted by Kennedy Center Artistic Director for Jazz Jason Moran and featuring performances by NEA Jazz Masters Chick Corea, Randy Weston, and Jimmy Heath, as well as Ambrose Akinmusire, Lakecia Benjamin, Billy Harper, Stefon Harris, Justin Kauflin, Rudresh Mahanthappa, Pedrito Martinez, Jason Moran, David Murray, Linda Oh, Karriem Riggins, Roswell Rudd, and Catherine Russell. The concert will also be available in a live video stream at,, and

The NEA Jazz Masters award is the highest honor that our nation bestows on living legend jazz musicians in recognition of their lifetime achievements and exceptional contributions to the advancement of jazz.

Performance Timing: 90 minutes without intermission

NOTE: Reserved tickets may be picked up from the Hall of Nations Box Office beginning at 6 p.m. Tickets that have not been claimed by 7:45 p.m. on April 4, 2016 will be released and distributed to a stand-by line. 

If you or a member of your party require wheelchair-accessible seating or seats in the sign interpreted or captioned section, please notify box office staff of your needs when picking up your tickets. If you have questions about accessibility or would like to request an accommodation, please contact the Accessibility Office at (202) 416-8727 or

What People are Saying