The KCACTF Theater for Young Audiences Award

The KCACTF  Theater for Young Audiences AwardPresented in association with Kennedy Center Theater for Young Audiences, The KCACTF Theater for Young Audiences Playwriting Award for the outstanding Kennedy Center American College Theater Festival student-written play or adaptation on a theme for young people at any level between kindergarten and 12th grades.

  • A $1000 cash prize will be awarded to the playwright.
  • Dramatists Guild Award. The Dramatists Guild Award provides the playwright with Active membership in the Guild.
  • The Kennedy Center's New Visions/New Voices Fellowship and Children's Theatre Foundation of America Fellowship: The winning playwright receives a fellowship to attend the Kennedy Center's New Visions/New Voices development laboratory. This Fellowship covers travel, living expenses, per diem, and related Festival costs.. This important professional development opportunity enables the playwright to further refine his/her writing skills and to observe professionals at work on their craft.

The play must be produced by a college or university or publicly presented in a "rehearsed" or "staged reading" format following a significant development process. The play must be entered, as an Associate or Participating entry, in the KCACTF. It must comply with the guidelines for scripts entered in the KCACTF Michael Kanin Playwriting Program.
For other questions, refer to "Rules and Procedures for the Michael Kanin Playwriting Awards Program" above.

The KCACTF Theatre for Youth Playwriting Award Winners

The Transition of Doodle Pequeño by Gabriel Jason Dean, University of Texas at Austin
Runner up - Susan and the Scissor Woman by Shayanna Jacobs, Arizona State University
ASH TREE by Georgina Hernandez Escobar, University of New Mexico
Fly/Lyf by Anne Negri, Arizona State University
Winter Fruit - Allison Menzimer, University of California-Santa Barbara
2007 (Co-winners)
Katrina: the Girl Who Wanted Her Name Back - Jason Tremblay, University of Texas at Austin
Ashes, Ashes- Eve Tulbert, University of Texas at Austin
The Monster Hunters, Joshua Mikel, Florida State University
I Sea, Lou Clark, University of New Mexico
No Award this year
Harry the Magnificent by Dusty McGowan, University of New Mexico
No Award this year