

FOR RELEASE:

November 17, 2022

THE 45TH ANNUAL KENNEDY CENTER HONORS WILL AIR WEDNESDAY, DECEMBER 28 ON CBS

George Clooney, Amy Grant, Gladys Knight, Tania León, and U2 to Receive Kennedy Center Honors in Recognition of Lifetime Artistic Achievement on Sunday, December 4, 2022



(WASHINGTON)—The Kennedy Center and CBS announced today the **45th Annual Kennedy Center Honors** will air on **Wednesday, December 28** (**8:00-10:00 P.M., EST/PST**) on the CBS Television Network, and available to stream live and on demand on Paramount+.*

As previously announced, acclaimed actor and filmmaker **George Clooney**, contemporary Christian pop singer-songwriter **Amy Grant**, the legendary singer of soul, Gospel, R&B and pop **Gladys Knight**, Cuban-born American composer, conductor and educator **Tania León**, and iconic Irish rock band **U2** (comprised of band members Bono, The Edge, Adam Clayton and Larry Mullen Jr.) are the Honorees.

In a star-studded celebration on the Kennedy Center Opera House stage on December 4, the 2022 Honorees will be saluted by today's leading performers from New York, Hollywood, and the arts capitals of the world, accepting the recognition and gratitude of their peers through performances and tributes.

The Honors recipients are recognized for their contributions to American culture through the performing arts—whether in music, dance, theater, opera, motion pictures, or television—and are confirmed by the Executive Committee of the Center's Board of Trustees. The primary criterion in the selection process is excellence. The Honors are not designated by art form or category of artistic achievement; the selection process, over the years, has produced balance among the various arts and artistic disciplines.

The Honoree selection process includes solicitation of recommendations from former Honorees, the artistic community, the Kennedy Center Board of Trustees, and the general public. This year's selected Honorees were chosen based on the recommendation of the Center's Special Honors Advisory Committee, which is chaired by David Bohnett and includes past Honors recipients and distinguished artists Julie Andrews, Gloria Estefan, Herbie Hancock, Judith Jamison, Lionel Richie, and John Williams as well as David M. Rubenstein, Deborah F. Rutter, Bryan Lourd, Cappy McGarr, Shonda Rhimes, and Daryl Roth. These individuals play a critical role in the evaluation and selection process, and the Kennedy Center is indebted to them for their involvement.

Done+Dusted executive produces the special in association with ROK Productions, represented by Elizabeth Kelly, who serves as executive producer alongside David Jammy and Ian Stewart. Alex Rudzinski is the director.

*Paramount+ Premium subscribers will have access to stream live via the live feed of their local CBS affiliate on the service as well as on demand. Essential-tier subscribers will have access to on-demand the day after the special airs.

The Exclusive Sponsor of the Kennedy Center Honors is CBS.

The Exclusive Underwriter of the Kennedy Center Honors Gala is Boeing.

The Official Airline of the Kennedy Center Honors is Delta Air Lines.

The Kennedy Center Honors Founding Producer is George Stevens, Jr.

Kennedy Center Honors Ticket Information:

For ticket inquiries, please visit kennedy-center.org/honorsinfo or email Honors@kennedy-center.org.

For more information about the Kennedy Center, please visit our website.

Discover the Kennedy Center on social media:









@KennedyCenter @kennedy.center

#KCHonors

###

PRESS CONTACTS:

Eileen Andrews (Kennedy Center) (202) 416-8448 etandrews@kennedy-center.org

Brittany Laeger (Kennedy Center) (202) 416-8445 balaeger@kennedy-center.org

Kate Fisher (CBS) khfisher@viacomcbs.com

Victoria Saavedra (CBS) victoria.saavedra@paramount.com